E-Readers for Voracious Readers

Voxburner has a little teaser for some market research in which they claim that 62% of 16-24-year-olds prefer paper books to e-books.

Their study sounds a little questionable on a number of grounds, but let’s take this as given and explore some further breakdowns.

Some people buy one book a year.  Some buy 10.  Some 20.  Some 50.  Some 100.

People who buy one book a year(ish) are probably the most numerous demographic, and they are the ones for whom physical books make the most sense.  A dedicated e-reader doesn’t make sense if you don’t read a lot.  Smartphones are non-ideal reading platforms.  Tablets are pretty good (though 10″ tablets are a bit heavy), but not a ton of people own tablets.  Further, the trophy aspect of a physical book is a positive if you’re accumulating only a small number of books.  Some well-worn books on your wall is perhaps a nice homey touch.  And the convenience of e-books aren’t a huge deal if you’re talking about going to a bookstore, or waiting for Amazon to ship, just once or twice a year.

I read about 50 books a year.  This is a whole different can of worms.  My thousands of physical books (before I went exclusively digital) were a giant inconvenience.  I didn’t have enough wallspace to display them all, and moving them was an enormous pain in the ass.  A dedicated e-reader is not a big expenditure compared to the about $500 a year I spend on books (though I currently use my Nexus 7 as my reader).  And since I like to have a book that I’m reading all the time, it used to be a noticeable inconvenience to keep myself “in books.”  When I finished one, I’d have to schedule time to go down to the store and get another.  Now I just tap a button and get another book immediately after I finish my first.

And these data suggest that people who read 5 or fewer books per year are roughly half the population.  Only 30% of the population are in the 10+ books per year category…  yet the mean number of books read per year is 17.  That suggests that the market is defined by the voracious readers: the top 5-30% of the market account for more than half of the sales.

So if “most” people prefer physical books, but those “most” people are overwhelmingly low-engagement readers, it’s not necessarily very important to the future of the book.  The voracious readers will define what is and is not economical.

Leave a Reply

